Coming Home

As I mentioned in a recent post, I have come home.

I’ve always known that I wanted to be a housewife, but I never realized how strong the desire would be once I had a house and husband to take care of.

Many little girls start out wanting to be “just like Mommy” when they grow up.  I was one of them.  As a little girl, I would try to imitate my mother as she cared for my younger siblings, Mom with the baby, me with my doll.  I’ve never lost the desire to one day become what my mother is, homemaker and homeschooling mom.  Now, I’ve taken the first step and become a homemaker.

I love being at home.  The relaxed pace suits me, and I’m much more of a homebody than a social butterfly, so I’m not sorry not to be dealing with people all the time.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed my job and it was a wonderful two years, but the stress of working 40 hours and then trying to come home and get anything done was more than I wanted to continue.

I don’t really know how some women do it, and then add kids, activities, and such.  In any case, my tendency to do the next thing with all my energy meant that I was spending all my energy at work, and had none left to do chores many nights, let alone work on the redecorating plans Sir K and I have been talking about.  And that increasingly did not feel as if my focus was in the right place.

As a wife, my focus felt like it should be on my husband and future children, making a pleasant home haven for them.  And while I was spending the best 8 hours of my day outside the home, I didn’t seem to be able to do that.  Sir K might not have been complaining yet, but he is completely supportive of my desire to be a stay at home wife.   And two weeks in, I’m loving the change.

I’m no model housekeeper with pristine house and cookies baking, but that’s not my goal. My goal is to create a warm, inviting atmosphere for my husband and later my children.  And to make a place where Christ is welcome.  When I think about it, that’s really the most important thing in a home to me.  That Christ be welcomed in and asked to stay.  Whether in a home or a heart.

Because then it can truly feel like heaven.

Explore posts in the same categories: Young Adulthood

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

