I’m Ready, Why Aren’t You, God?

Have you ever felt like you were ready to begin the next phase of your life, but that God hadn’t opened the door yet?

Perhaps you’ve been trying to get into colleges, but you didn’t get accepted into any of the ones you wanted.  Maybe you’re job hunting, but nothing is turning up.  Maybe you’re waiting for Prince Charming, but he’s not being very obliging about ringing your doorbell.  Some of my readers might even be trying for a child, but having no success.  Maybe it’s something completely different.

Have you felt like telling God that you were ready and that you wished He’d hurry up and open the door?

Sometimes we’re not as ready as we think we are.

For the past 5-8 years, I have felt like God has had to push me out of my comfort zone to move me forward.  Usually He used my mother to jump start something new, because I really didn’t like change.  Which meant that my mother had to encourage me to go ahead and volunteer different places, to go on and really hunt for a job, to start singing with the church worship team.  Each time, I’ve been a little apprehensive about the new activity, but each time, I have also very much enjoyed the time I have spent doing it.

About six months ago or so, I told my mother that I finally felt “ready” to move on to the next phase of my life.  This was a new feeling for me, and I recognized that I probably wasn’t really ready, even though I felt like it.  We allowed that my success with my job, which I had been very nervous about in the beginning, was helping me to feel that I was ready for a new challenge in another realm – relationships.

So, I was ready.  Or was I?

Another three months went by.  Nothing much had changed.  I should mention here that I have a very good friend that I met about the time that 3G went off to college.  Sir K had helped to fill the void left by 3G not being around all the time.  Over the three years I’d known him, Sir K had become very close.  So when I felt like I was “ready,” although I tried not to assume anything, I did have a pretty good idea who God might have in mind.

So three months ago, I was praying about things, and I began asking “when?”  It was becoming increasingly difficult to be just friends with Sir K.  I had refrained from asking God if this was “the one,” but the cry of my heart was for a deeper relationship, and I felt like I needed to know something now.  Well, apparently God agreed with me, because that night He gave me an answer.  Only one word, but it brought such peace that I knew it was from Him.

“Soon.”

No, it didn’t give me any idea when exactly things would change.  No, I still couldn’t have told you who.  But yes, I was satisfied.  And I was at peace.

Where before I had been “ready,” now I was at peace with the situation.  And in that peace I could be patient.  God would bring it to pass in His perfect timing.  And so He has.

A couple of weeks ago, Sir K and I embarked on something we have termed an Intentional Relationship.  I’ve not been thrilled with the concept of dating as a means to get to know your potential spouse, and on the other side, courtship as defined by the ultra conservatives seemed a little restrictive, besides requiring a lot of parental involvement.  My parents have been helping me transition from child to adult, so the last thing they wanted to do was drive or limit my decision making in terms of a spouse.  So Sir K and I have been finding our own way, through lots of discussions and spending more time with each other and our families.

What point am I trying to make in all this?  I just wanted to encourage all those of you, no matter what door you’re waiting on, no matter whether you think you’re ready or not, all those of you who are contemplating entering a new phase in your life, to wait for God’s timing and His peace before moving forward.  Although I felt like I was ready, I tried very hard not to give any such indication, as I felt that could cloud the issue if my friend was either waiting for God’s okay, or deciding that this was not the direction that God wanted him to go in.  Instead, I lived in the peaceful hope that God would indeed work everything out in His own perfect way, which He has proceeded and is proceeding to do.  He makes all things beautiful in His time.

So what are you “ready” to embark on?  College, a new career, marriage, children?  Whatever door you are waiting for God to open, know that He will open it in His timing, and that it will be well worth the wait.  In retrospect, Sir K and I have each seen things God was teaching us in the last 6 months to a year.  We’ve lost nothing in waiting, and instead have been able to build our foundation of friendship that much stronger.  No matter what you’re waiting for, God will bless you for waiting on His timing.

Sir K and I are excited to see where God will take us in the coming months, we are thankful to Him for His perfect timing, and above all, we desire that He always remain the center of our relationship.

May He bless you as much as He is blessing us.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friends, Young Adulthood

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

