Can It Be?

I passed a “congratulations grads” sign the other day.  The realization suddenly hit me that I have been out of college for a year.  I’m not sure whether that feels like a long time, or a short one!  Much has changed in that year, and much has stayed the same.

I still run into people who assume I’m in college, primarily based on my looks.  Of course, I have also had someone say they thought I was in my late twenties based on my maturity level.  And that same someone could still tell I was homeschooled from a mile away!

So, where am I a year after college?  How am I doing?

Based on the current job market, I am thankful at this point to have been working full-time for 6 months.  Beyond that, I am very thankful to have been given a job that I care about and one that I enjoy.  I tell people that I love my job, I like my coworkers, and they like me, so everything is wonderful.

Honestly, though, the six months after graduation were not easy.  I was volunteering, so I had something to do out of the house, and I was hunting work, but the uncertainty was rather unsettling.  I had a few interviews in the fall, but nothing that came to anything.

And then God dropped this job in my lap.

Oddly enough, I probably got it because I am a homeschooler.  Not because they were looking for one, but because jobs still come back to who you know.  I was at a homeschool meeting with my mom, and we mentioned that I was looking for a full-time job.  One of the ladies who was there is my boss’s wife, and when this position opened up a month after the meeting, he gave me a call.  The rest, as I like to say, is His-story!

I’m still dealing with plenty of uncertainty in my life, which is always teaching me to run back to God for help because I don’t like change, and I don’t like not knowing what, where, when, why, and how.  But I don’t have a whole lot of time to worry about it anymore – not with working 40 hours a week!

For those of you still waiting for that perfect job to materialize, be patient, and do the thing in front of you.  Sometimes you have to wait for the stepping-stones to surface before you can cross the river, but you can find something useful to do wherever you are right now.

If you’d like to compare these thoughts to what I wrote a year ago about graduating, you can find that post here.  As then, I still encourage you to focus on Christ and not on circumstances, good or bad.  He’s still in control!

Explore posts in the same categories: Young Adulthood

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Can It Be?”

  1. Sister Says:

    If the journey is sometimes more important than the destination, than those steppingstones, doing the thing in front of you, are just as important as the final step onto the riverbank. God is preparing us for what we consider the big things, but as I remind myself, the seemingly little things shape us and can give us pleasure too. Most of my life has been little things, and I’m not complaining.

    Thanks for the thoughtful post, Homeschool Graduate.


I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

