In Memory

Memorial Day.

What does it make me think of?  Picnics at my Great Aunt’s home, with all kinds of relatives (mostly grown ups), cat decor everywhere, and lots of food.  Hot dogs and orange fluff.  Red checkered cloths on folding tables.  Climbing the pole of the basketball hoop.  (Yeah, I’m going waaaay back here people!)  Playing hide and seek with my siblings in a house where none of us knew all the nooks and crannies.

Thinking about it, I didn’t even know what Memorial Day stood for until I was at least ten or twelve.   Yes, I’m sure Mom told me several times before that, but it didn’t stick.  And somehow, I think that wasn’t a bad thing.  After all, our troops stand between us and a dark reality so that childrencan be blissfully ignorant of the evils and horrors that go on in parts of the world.

This holiday weekend, let’s extend our deepest thanks to those who have stood and continue to stand so that we can be safe.

Explore posts in the same categories: Growing Up, My Family

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

