Lay Down Your Vengeance

At Bible Study last Wednesday, we read this passage in reference to a topic brought up in the course of our discussion, and I just wanted to share some of my thoughts on it with you.

 
“Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord.
 
Therefore, if thine enemy hunger, feed him; if he thirst, give him drink: for in so doing thou shalt heap coals of fire on his head.
 
Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.”
-Romans 12:19-21 KJV

 

Un-forgiveness is a burden.  When I carry anger, bitterness, or hatred in my heart, it weighs me down, darkens everything I do, and kills the joy I have in life and its Author.  But when I forgive those who’ve hurt me, I can give them the burden instead.

What do I mean by forgiving them?  According to the passage above, forgiving is about overcoming evil with good by doing good things for the person.  Showing them love.  Yeah, I don’t always feel very loving at the start, but when I begin by going through the motions, I can’t help but start to feel forgiving toward them.  To see them through God’s eyes instead of mine.

And after all, loving someone isn’t about a feeling; it’s about the things we do for them.  How do people show that they love someone?  By spending time with them, by helping them with a project or task, by giving them time, energy, and thought.  Sometimes I think we’re programed in reverse as well, so that when we spend time, energy, or thought on someone, we end by feeling more like loving them.

So don’t carry that burden around.  Vengeance isn’t yours to take, and the Lord’s accounts always balance in the end even if we grow weary with His patience.  So let Him take care of that part of the business while you get on with forgiving them.

And actually, forgiving them is not only good for you, it is probably the most effective way to get their attention.  The way I read it, forgiveness burns in their minds and hearts like coals of fire!

Explore posts in the same categories: Theological Musings

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Lay Down Your Vengeance”


  1. […] Reflections of a Homeschool Graduate Thoughts and Memories « Lay Down Your Vengeance […]


I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

