Fox Hunting

Okay, so I’ve never actually ridden behind the hounds, only read about it in several of the books I loved in my horse-crazy girlhood. Still, I think job hunting has some similarities to fox hunting.  Both are pursuits of elusive things with the help of others.  In fox hunting you often have to jump obstacles, just like in job hunting you have to jump through hoops sometimes.  I wouldn’t want to call anyone a dog, but I’ve had friends playing the part of the hounds, smelling out new leads.

I’ve been job hunting since I graduated last spring.  I’ve seen firsthand how hard it is to find a job in this economy.  I finally had one interview in October, and then sat down early this month with a friend of a friend to talk about a position he was looking at creating soon, but neither of these came to anything.

Everyone I know has been praying, looking, and keeping tabs on my status.  This week, I finally had good news to give them.

I have a full-time job.

I met the wife in October at a homeschool meeting.  My mother mentioned that I was job hunting, so I gave a little description of the things I was looking to do.  This lady asked me to send her my resume, but it wasn’t until last Friday that I heard from her husband.  I interviewed with them both on Monday, and he offered me the job on Tuesday.

Those two previous interviews helped prepare me for the last one.  I was much more collected and less nervous this time around.  God’s timing is perfect, just as He promised, and I am glad He didn’t rush things just because I wanted the job months ago.

I had my first day at the new job yesterday, even though today was my last at the senior center where I’d been working part-time.  Leaving was hard, but I know it’s time to move on.  I’ll miss the seniors and my co-workers, but I have a sneaky suspicion my new boss will keep me too busy to notice!  Besides, I really dislike job hunting, so I’m very glad to be done with it.

Now, how is that for a reason to give thanks this holiday season!

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Fox Hunting”

  1. smiley Says:

    Congratulations! Hope you enjoy your new job! 🙂 God’s timing is indeed perfect.


I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

