I Danced Across a Cloud

Sometimes when my heart is full, the words don’t come in either complete sentences or in nicely rhythmic stanzas.  I jotted this down while driving to the conference I mentioned last month.  I had a couple of reasons for feeling especially blessed, excited, and joyous, and I wanted to capture the feeling on paper somehow.  I could have described the feeling as a sunbeam in my heart trying to find its way out so it could share my joy, but this is what I wrote instead.

 

I danced across a cloud one day
Waltzing with a rainbow while the sun looked on

A laughing breeze came to take a turn
And we whirled down the jet stream

I finally slid down a sunbeam
To land in a mountain streamlet

We frolicked down to the valley
Singing with the birds all the way

The stream became a rushing river
so I danced out into a meadow of flowers

My smile was a lifetime wide
Encompassing the sky

My soul was full to bursting
And bubbled o’er with joy

My Lord had given me a gift so fine
My exuberance could scarcely be contained

Explore posts in the same categories: Poetry/Writings

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

