Too Scared to be Rescued

Several weeks ago, we looked out the window and saw chipmunks on our feeder.  Yes, I made that plural.  We had two on the feeder, and they were “baby” chipmunks.  We’ve had two chipmunks for some time, but now we had begun to notice that sometimes we would see a chipmunk which was not quite as agile, somewhat clumsy about getting on and off the feeder and even just climbing around in the bushes beneath.  So we knew that these two chipmunks were babies, but then we saw something else.

A third chipmunk.

It wasn’t on the feeder.   It wasn’t in the bushes.  It was in the feeder.

Yes, you read that correctly.  In the feeder.  We’ve had chipmunks get stuck in there before, but we determined that this one was definitely another baby, giving us a full count of three babies and five chipmunks altogether.  Well, we’ve discovered that chipmunks are adept at getting in our feeders, but they don’t really have a good sense of how to get out.  So, Mom to the rescue!

She brought the feeder to the door so that my youngest brothers and I could see inside before she let the chipmunk out.  I, of course, had my camera, so you get to see him too.  He was pretty scared.  When Mom went to let him go, she had to tip the feeder way up so that he would come out!

I had to rescue a chipmunk a few days later, and the same thing happened.  When I set the feeder in the grass with the top off, he didn’t want to come out.  I could see through a hole that he was watching me and sitting there as if petrified.  As reassuring as I was trying to be, he didn’t want to come out.  I’m not sure I would have wanted to either in his position, not with a giant something-or-other watching me!

Thinking back, I am wondering whether we are sometimes like chipmunks, stuck in a feeder.  We got ourselves into a jam that we can’t really get ourselves out of.  Eventually someone comes along and opens a way out for us (sometimes turning the situation on its head).  But will we take advantage of it?

I know sometimes the way of escape is just as scary as the original situation.  It’s new, sometimes people are watching and you aren’t sure what they’re thinking, and sometimes you’re not completely convinced that it will work.  What if there’s a catch?

Take my job situation.  I’ve come to the point where I realize that I need to find a new position.  I love the place I’m at, but there isn’t a lot of guidance for me to improve my capabilities and the organization is too small to give me the kind of hours that I want to work.  For me, however, the job hunting process is not much fun.  I get nervous about interviews, I’m not used to promoting myself (which is different, at least in my mind, from talking about myself), and I tend not to like big changes very much.

The way out of my current situation is scarier than staying.  But I’ve come to the conclusion that, like the chipmunk who eventually was able to scurry out and back to the bushes, I will be able to come out of the process in a better place.

How about you?  Is God showing you a way out of your current, less than optimal situation that is giving you second thoughts?  Are you more afraid of the way out than you are of remaining stuck?  I could liken it to how some of us come to Christ.  We are familiar with our sin, so when Jesus offers us a way of escape, we are more afraid of what it will mean to live in Him than we are of going to Hell.  Of course, when we finally take the step of faith and follow Jesus, we find the path much easier than we expected (as well as much harder, but that’s a paradox for another day) and the reward much greater than we guessed.

To him that overcomes will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcame, and am set down with my Father in his throne.  He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.     (Revelation 3:21-22)
Explore posts in the same categories: Theological Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Too Scared to be Rescued”

  1. smiley Says:

    HG,

    I really like this post; we have squirells in place of chipmunks! 🙂 Yes, it can be scary to move forward but I think God is gracious and gives us confidence as we seek His will and follow His plan. I have been job-hunting and the idea was pretty scary, but now I have been offered a Christmas position and I’m not scared! 🙂 I’ve also been in several other situations lately which have left me “too scared to be rescued” so this post was really encouraging for me. Thank you.

    By the way, I can understand how you feel about the job-hunting process – I have been looking and applying for jobs since Easter and it wasn’t fun. I hope you find the job you are happy in. God bless you.


    • Thank you, Smiley!

      Yes, God is gracious and He not only gives us confidence, but He gives us peace about following His path even when we can’t see where it is leading. I’m resting securely in the knowledge that He knows where He wants me and will put me there with or without my help in His own good time. Sure, I sometimes wish His time was sooner (as in now), but for the most part I’m willing to trust Him.

      Blessings,
      ~Homeschool Graduate


I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

