Fall Break

As I’m writing this, Sister is headed back to college after spending a couple of days at home over Fall Break.  It was good to have her home again, even if only for a few days.  On top of the shortness of the break, I didn’t see her a whole lot due to other things going on, and the amount of homework she has.  But the important thing was to see her, even if for only a short time.

She’s doing well, likes her classes, enjoys spending time with her classmates, goes to as many office hours as she can, and is surviving the food pretty well.  The only thing she says she’s short on is sleep, but that’s just going to be in short supply period at college.  My brother 3G has had the same problem every year!

I think I’ve finally reached the point where I’ve adjusted to the new normal — the normal that has only my youngest brothers and me at home (and me at work three days a week), the normal that we’ve had to step up and do more things, like dishes, laundry, and cleaning, because there are fewer people to share the load.  [There’s one really good reason for having a large family – there’s usually someone else who can help do a task, making it go faster and more agreeably.]  The normal that I don’t get caught up talking to either Sister or 3G for half and hour to an hour at a time about who-knows-what and everything-in-general.

Sure, I miss both our college kids.  The first three weeks were pretty awful.  After the first week I had adjusted to not seeing either of them around the house, but it was still really tough when people at church would ask about them and then ask how I was doing with them gone.  While I could be chipper about how well they were doing, the minute anyone asked about me, I was finished.  I was missing them too much to answer that one without tears.

After 6 weeks, however, I’m doing much better.  It still can depend on who’s asking whether I can keep a lid on my emotions or not, but for the most part, I’m dealing with it.  Based on experience when 3G first went away, it only gets easier from here (except for brief times each time he goes back after a break)!

What am I learning through all this?  That my Jesus is sufficient for my every need, which includes someone to talk to (chatter at) and to share things with.  Just yesterday I was about to burst because I was so excited about something I’m doing for a Christmas present.  Being that it’s a secret, I couldn’t tell anyone (and no, I can’t even post it here because Sister will eventually have the time to read this post, and I can’t guarantee it will be after Christmas!), so I ended up carrying on quite the half-conversation with Jesus instead.  Hey, it was His work I was so excited about anyway!

In other news, I’m going to a Bible conference this weekend!

More on that later . . .

Explore posts in the same categories: My Family, Siblings

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Fall Break”

  1. Laurel Anne Says:

    I really like this and I know how you feel. A year ago my sisters and I were all living at home together, now the oldest is married, I’ve moved to another state and the youngest is home with our parents. It’s hard to be separated when your hearts are so close!


    • That’s what letters, email, and phone calls are for! Keeping in touch can be difficult due to busy schedules, but it’s important once our lives are not so intertwined as they once were. I’m just hoping we all manage to settle down near each other once the college season of our lives is done!

  2. smiley Says:

    Aw, I’m sorry you found it hard but it is nice that you miss them. So many siblings don’t miss each other when they go away. My brother and I were blessed to be able to go to college and university while still living at home. Now we are both enrolled to do distance learning courses.

    How wonderful that we can always talk to Jesus! Isn’t it great that He listens to us?! 🙂 It amazes me how God uses even day-to-day circumstances to teach us.


    • How great that you were able to be together through all of that! I did my coursework online, and loved it. The choice to stay home allowed us to have two extra years of everybody together before my brother went away.

      Some days I’m amazed at God’s patience in listening to us. Then I remember His infinite love, and I’m not so surprised anymore. He listens because He loves us. Now I’m learning to listen because I love Him!

  3. Sister Says:

    It’s not Christmas yet and I’ve read this post. 🙂

    I don’t know anything about missing siblings . . .

    But seriously, it’s good to be reminded to talk to Jesus about everything, the good and the not-so-good.


  4. […] mentioned last week that I was headed to a Bible conference over the weekend.  It’s a conference my family has […]


I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

