Commenting

Timothy over at Genius Inc. wrote a post about commenting that sparked my interest.  He’s right that bloggers love to get comments on their posts, but that it’s also hard to write good comments on others’ posts.  I’ve actually been seeing a jump in comment traffic on my own blog, (which is great by the way, thanks for the encouragement everybody) and now Timothy’s post has encouraged me to pass this on to others.

I’ve been trying to make a habit of commenting when I read a post I really like, if only to tell the writer what part really spoke to me and why.  Even short little comments can be indicative that a person has really been affected by the post, so I’m not going to worry about length.

Nor am I going to adopt Timothy’s goals exactly.  He hopes to comment at least 29 times on 10 different blogs this month.  I don’t follow quite that many blogs on a regular basis, so I’m going to make my goal 30 comments on as many different posts as I can.

What about you?  Will you join me in blessing your favorite bloggers?

Note: I don’t have to be one of them!
Explore posts in the same categories: Links to Articles, Blogs, Etc.

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Commenting”

  1. sheila4hastenhome Says:

    Conversations are always more enjoyable when they go at least two ways! 🙂 A comment a day sounds like a good plan.


  2. Hebrews 3:13 says we should encourage one another day after day, as long as it is still called “Today” to prevent sin’s deceit from hardening our hearts. It’s good to encourage when we can do so honestly.

    Robert Brault (another blogger) shared a story of a compliment that resurfaced decades later (http://www.robertbrault.com/2011/08/woman-in-check-out-line.html). It, too, speaks of the power of words and making them count.

    Thanks for the reminder to encourage others.


    • Thanks for the link, John. It’s a special story. I’m always encouraged to hear stories like that one because I’m one of those who tries to remember to brighten other people’s days by smiling. Sometimes even saying a cheery “Good morning.” You never know how much it can mean to someone to hear a stranger caring about you by wishing you good day.

      A couple of weeks ago I was at the bank making a deposit (of course!) and the teller brought me my receipt and wished me a good day. And she used my first name. Which she had of course gotten from my deposit slip and checks, because I don’t know her although I do business regularly at that bank. My smile lit up and stayed that way all day, just because she took the time to use my name. I’m thinking I’ll have to write a post about that . . .


  3. […] Reflections of a Homeschool Graduate Thoughts and Memories « Commenting […]


I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

