One Gone, One to Go

It’s that time of year again, when school supplies are in every ad and kids are getting in gear for another year of learning.  My mom has been working on school plans as usual, but this year is different for her.

For one thing, she only has one grade to teach, so basically one set of school plans to do (she may have the twins doing slightly different things, but at least until next year they’re doing mostly the same stuff).  For another, she’s been terribly busy getting two college students ready to go out the door.

Yep, two.  My brother 3G left this morning for his Junior year at an engineering school nearly four hours away.  We don’t get to see him as often as we’d like because of the distance, but he does a pretty good job of staying in touch by email, snail mail, and weekly phone calls.  Because he’s going back to the same dorm he was in last year and has already done this twice, he already had a lot of stuff ready and knew pretty much what he needed.

On Friday, Sister is going to school for writing at a college about an hour away from us.  This being her first year, she and Mom have been shopping, shopping, and more shopping to get her everything she needs.  3G has offered some pointers, and if she is missing something, it’s not too big a deal for us to bring it down some weekend, but the attempt has been not to miss anything.  She’ll be close enough that some of us can visit every couple of weekends.  That’ll be nice, ’cause I don’t yet know how I’m going to survive without her.  She’s been the sunshine in the house for years.

Granted, I’m not saying that we always get along.  We have a tendency to get on each others’ nerves every so often.  Okay, honestly, I get on her nerves a lot more often than she gets on mine.  Sometimes even on purpose.  But I love her.  And no, I’m not saying this just because I know she’ll read it, but I’m even going to miss our friction.

Being a tight knit bunch of siblings and tight knit family in general, even one person missing was hard when my brother first went to college.  Now we’ll have two gone.  So we still have three at home; that’s still going to feel like less than half of us!  At least this time we have some kind of inkling what it’s going to be like so we’re almost prepared.  It’s taken a lot of prayer though.

I had a rough start to the week, days before either of them left.  Yesterday and today have been much better (although I did have a couple of tough minutes when 3G said goodbye this morning), and I can feel other people praying for me.

Thank you so much guys, and don’t stop!

Explore posts in the same categories: My Family, Siblings

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

