Guest Post: Reflections from my Sister

I invited my sister to write a guest post almost as soon as I had the blog up and running, a year and a half ago.  At long last, she has consented to squeeze in the time to write something for you all.  Since she is now also a graduate of homeschooling, I thought it was very fitting that she share her thoughts with us as she prepares for the next stage of her life.  Enjoy!

Next and Always
by Sister

Now that I am also a homeschool graduate, it’s finally time for me to write a guest post for my older sister’s blog.

All my life I’ve been a homeschooler, and now suddenly I am officially “graduated.”  What does that mean for my life?  What does it look like in shoe leather?  Well, the big difference is that I’m going off to college in a couple of weeks.  In addition to everything else going on that Homeschoolgraduate has mentioned, Mom and I have been shopping for dorm stuff.  Every time I think we’re getting close to the end of stuff I’ll need, somebody thinks of something else.  Oh, well, so it goes.  Good thing I like going shopping with Mom!

So much is happening in a short time that I feel as though the next stage of my life is whirling me along into it before I am ready to leave the current one.  Yet all of my life as a homeschooler has been preparing me for what’s coming.  College is next in God’s plan for me; I don’t know about after that, perhaps a job, perhaps marriage . . .

The idea of me being married is far more foreign right now than that of me being at college, so I have to remind myself that I wasn’t ready for college when I was in elementary, either.  I didn’t need to be, nor was I expected to be.  Growth is a process and journeys have stages.  God’s timing is perfect: He gets us ready for the next stage neither sooner nor later than we need to be.

Although I graduated from high school this spring, I’m not finished with homeschooling.  I will always be a homeschooler.  In my family, it is a way of life based on the Way, the Truth, and the Life.  Mom and Dad brought us up in the way we should go, learning to love God, love others, and love learning.  I will continue in this way throughout life.  Homeschoolgraduate said in her graduation poem, “Learning’s for life” – and so is homeschooling.

Having said all that, I will clarify that homeschooling is not the focus of my life or the reason for my being: Jesus is.  “Looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of faith” (Hebrews 12:2).  Without God, there would be no point in going off to college or even in living– in fact, without God, there would be no life.  Jesus first and last – my Creator, Savior, Sustainer, and Friend.

Patrick Henry said, “Give me liberty or give me death,” but all I want is Jesus.

Explore posts in the same categories: Homeschooling, My Family, Siblings, Young Adulthood

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

