Why Join the Workforce?

I haven’t talked much about my work on this blog.  My job doesn’t have much relevance to what I generally talk about here.   I work part-time at a senior day center, mostly helping write grants, advertizing, fundraising materials, and any other odd things that get thrown at me.  I love the members, I love helping serve them, and I love the writing and designing stuff I get to do.  It’s fun, it’s the job I want, and it’s utilizing my talents.  At the same time, I’d never want to do this for the rest of my life.

I would much rather spend my time homemaking than in the workplace.  I love being around my family.  I generally can’t wait to come home at the end of the day.  And I only work a few days a week!  I can’t imagine what it’s going to be like when I get a full-time job (hopefully doing just what I’m doing now).  I can’t think why women as a whole have fought so hard to get into and stay in the workplace.  Why on earth do we want to be crunching numbers, managing businesses, whatever, when we could be at home, enjoying our children (yeah, I know, I don’t have any, but I do have younger siblings and I can also speak from other peoples’ experience), making our home a haven of rest for our husbands and a place of peace to other friends, and blessing any number of people in our free time, whether by phone calls, written notes, visits, or prayer.

To clarify, I’m not against women working.  I understand that some families have a hard time making ends meet, though I would not be surprised if some of them really just need to pay more attention to the money flowing out and less to the money flowing in.  I’m obviously not against women in the workforce because I just said I’m working and I’m looking for a full-time job.  My desire is to work during my single years, saving up a nest egg.  Why shouldn’t I busy myself with something good and useful as I prepare for my “someday”?  But that’s not the best God has for me.

God has given me a dream.  A dream of being that quiet ear for my husband when he’s tired and needs to get the day’s annoyances off his mind (rather than needing to burden him with mine).   A dream of staying home to raise my children.  A dream of watching them grow from day to day.   A dream of teaching them personally everything they need to know for life in godliness.   A dream of making my home beautiful for my family.    A dream of blessing others by the talents God has bestowed on me.

Am I ready to live that dream yet?  Apparently not, or I already would be.  God will turn the dream into reality in His own good time, as I’ve already posted about.  In the meantime, I will work and wait, always preparing for the day when the dream becomes reality.

Explore posts in the same categories: Young Adulthood

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Why Join the Workforce?”

  1. Lauralea Says:

    Is it possible to double like this post?
    I am thinking I may have to get a job soon, and suddenly everyone is posting about jobs. 🙂 I want to be out and about serving during my single years, not a 9-to-5 wage slave. I know that is not excellence. It’s not my full potential. I am really struggling with want to earn a living, but in a way that makes me stretch and doesn’t distract me from God- as in, I would like “part time” work. My sphere of influence, so to speak, is the home, being a good example for my siblingand a help to mom. I am not sure why women fight to get jobs, either. . I’d love to find a job working with kids. And since I live in Michigan, where the jobs are 1 for every 200 people looking, it’s hard. to decide if I want to get out there and work part time Your post brought some encouragement and perspective. Thanks homeschoolgraduate! Blessings!!!!
    Lauralea


    • I would like part-time work also, in order to be more available for “ministry,” but the truth is that work can be a ministry too. And in my case, I’ve got health insurance to think about since pretty soon Dad’s won’t cover me. At the moment, I focus on being the living example to those around me at work, while doing as much as I can at home and elsewhere.

      As for how to get a job where there aren’t any, well, I started out volunteering. In this economy, volunteers are very much appreciated. So much so that after six months I started getting paid! I encourage you to find some kids program where they can use volunteers and get involved, if you haven’t already. Maybe they won’t be able to hire you, but it’s experience which will be good and exposure to others in similar fields. I’m meeting plenty of people who are potential co-workers if I am able to start working somewhere else, and it’s good to have those contacts.


I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

