Tsunami or Blood?

Watching the coverage of the earthquake and tsunami in Japan and elsewhere this morning, I was dismayed by the amount of destruction I saw, and I didn’t even see the full coverage.  One clip I did see, however, of a Japanese harbor made me shake my head, wide-eyed.  We’re talking big ships, I’d call them ocean liners though I have absolutely no idea what the correct terminology is, and they were bobbing like toy sailboats in the bathtub when you splash really hard.  Bobbing, tipping, and generally being tossed around.  All in very dirty water.

All that debri-strewn water set off a thought chain in my mind.  My father and I had sung “Are You Washed” only last night for a coffeehouse crowd, so immediately I connected the filthy water with that and contrasted it with the blood of Jesus that washes away all sin.  The tsunami water will only leave a mess, but Jesus’ blood covers the cost of the mess we’ve made of our lives.

As earthquake follows earthquake, causing terrible devastation, loss of life, and heartache, where are you putting your trust?  We know that an increasing rate of natural disasters, wars, epidemics, and famines are all indicators of the end times (Matthew 24).  Have you set your spiritual house in order?  When the end comes, are you going to look like a tsunami washed over you, or will you be clean because you have trusted in Jesus?

“42 Therefore watch; for you do not know what hour your Lord comes.
43 But know this, that if the steward of the house had known in what watch the thief would come, he would have watched and would not have allowed his house to be dug through.
44 Therefore you also be ready, for in that hour you think not, the Son of man comes.”
(Modern King James Version, Matthew 24:42-43)

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous, Theological Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

