Dreaming of a Full Homeschool

I’ve been surprised in following Lea Ann’s “Ask the Grad” series on her blog to note how many of the graduates did not necessarily graduate with the intention of homeschooling their own children. Perhaps this is a function of the very human tendency to judge others by ourselves — I am personally excited about homeschooling my own children someday and have no doubt in my mind that this is my future.

I wondered for several years whether I would even get married, let alone have children (a topic for a future post), but during my last year of highschool, I began to be able to turn the problem over to God, where it belonged.  As I did that, I finally got a sense of contentment.   But I still didn’t know what God’s plan was, and it was affecting my plans for college and a career.  Then, as my family was preparing for our state’s homeschool convention, God gave me the reason to hope for my homeschool.

It hit me that God has been preparing me all my life to homeschool.  Besides the fact that I’ve been homeschooled myself, I also have the benefit of being my mother’s daughter.  You see, my mom is a great homeschooling resource.  She likes to help new homeschoolers explore the options, and since we’ve used almost every kind of curriculum out there (and what we haven’t used, Mom has at least investigated), she’s able to make pretty good recommendations based on what she knows of the children being homeschooled.

Yep, Mom doesn’t recommend a “one-size-fits-all” curriculum anymore than she uses it.  Although we have our favorite curricula in each subject, not every student will be able to benefit from them like we did.  And at the same time, Mom always tries to make sure that she’s not recommending curriculum that requires too much from the homeschooling parent, which is one key to helping the homeschool succeed!

I have been blessed to listen in on a lot of conversations in which Mom was able to help homeschoolers at several stages in the process, with children at various ages, find their way through the maze of choosing curriculum and setting up their homeschool.  It’s great to be able to help out with my own input as one of the children who experienced Mom’s homeschool — quite the advertisement!

Knowing that I have been prepared in such a way to be a homeschooling mom, it became very clear to me where I was headed.  I’m not trying to say that I’m going to automatically know exactly what I’m doing when it comes to homeschooling and going to do a better job of it than most people.  I’m only saying that I’ve been blessed with a lot of preparation that will help me to do my very best as a homeschooling mom, and I am excited about the prospect.

Most little girls want to grow up to be like mommy, and I’m no different!

Explore posts in the same categories: College Online, Growing Up, Highschool, Homeschooling, Links to Articles, Blogs, Etc., Young Adulthood

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

