Season for Snow

I love snow.

Despite the trouble of shoveling, despite the damper of difficult travel, despite the reality of a cold nose and ears, I love snow!  I love to look out and see everything covered in snow.

The first snowfall each year takes me back to the days when I would see flakes falling and run to our back slider door.  Lying on my back with my head at the door, I could look out and see dark blobs falling from the sky.  They looked so funny, not like snow at all!

I also remember the year we took black construction paper onto the deck to see the flakes falling on it.  Each was different, of course, but they all had the same six point design.  Isn’t it amazing how many designs God has for snowflakes?

Perhaps one of the reasons I like snow so much is because I was a winter baby.  More likely I like snow because to me it symbolizes several things.  First, in my mind snow is associated with Christmas.  I’ll have to write another post on that one!  Snow also makes me think of renewal, because it helps cover the grass during the cold winter months, protecting it from the sun while it cannot grow.  Come spring, the snow will melt and the grass will come out again, looking all the greener for having slept under its winter blanket!

And as white as snow is, it always reminds me of how my sins have been washed whiter even than snow.  Knowing a small portion of how black my sins were (to know the full extent of their sins would daunt anyone, which is why God in his mercy never allows us to see it), I am continually amazed by the wonder of God’s wonderful gift, making me white and clean again!

Okay, and the last reason I like snow?  All right, all right, it’s probably not the last, just the last one I’ll bore you with right now.  Snow gets me in the mood for singing Christmas Carols!  I sing them all year round, actually, and singing in my church’s Christmas Cantata always gets me started early, but something about snow on the ground makes me even more tuneful.  I love to hear the old carols, and it’s even better to sing them!

I heard the bells on Christmas day
Their old familiar carols play
And wild and sweet the words repeat
Of Peace On Earth, Good Will To Men

I thought how as the day had come
The belfries of all Christendom
Had rolled along the unbroken song
Of Peace On Earth, Good Will To Men

And in despair I bowed my head
“There is no peace on earth,” I said
For death is strong and mocks the song
Of Peace On Earth, Good Will To Men

Then pealed the bells more loud and deep
“God is not dead, nor does he sleep
The wrong shall fail the right, prevail
With Peace On Earth, Good Will To Men”

Explore posts in the same categories: Growing Up, Miscellaneous

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

