Break Out Your Shovels

Dug Down Deep
A Book Review

Have you wondered why you are a Christian?  Do non-believers ask you tough questions about your faith?  Are you a Christian who is tired of taking things for granted, who wants to know more about what we believe and why?  Joshua Harris’s latest book, Dug Down Deep, is a good place to start.

I’ve been a Christian since I was five, grew up in a Christian home, and have gone to church all my life; and I was challenged by this book, Dug Down Deep.  Josh Harris starts with Jesus’s parable of the two builders, the one who built his house on sand, and the other who built on the rock.  I was surprised to realize with Josh that Jesus was speaking of two Christians.  The book goes on to talk about the bedrock of the Christian faith.

I love Joshua’s conversational tone, his excellent storytelling, and his on-point examples.  He shares quite a bit of his own testimony, which I found quite interesting, seeing that he comes from a background more similar to my own than I would have guessed. 

Dug Down Deep has challenged me to grow in my faith.  I’ve learned to know God as my Savior, my Helper, and my Father, now I’m meeting him as my Friend.  Get that?  God is my Friend!  I first ran across that concept a few weeks ago while reading Start Here, written by Joshua’s younger brothers, Alex and Brett Harris.  Since reading both books, I’ve already started noticing that I read my Bible a little differently.

Perhaps some of you have read stories written by someone you know.  It’s very different from reading any other book!  When the author is related to you, it can be all the more exciting (as I have reason to know).  Think about it, the Bible was written by God, who is our Father and our Friend!  That simple fact can transform a dry book written a long time ago into an exciting adventure.  The fact that the book is historical combined with the fact that its hero is God himself, makes the Bible a compelling book. 

I would highly recommend that you find a copy of Dug Down Deep.  For a further introduction to the book, go watch this video.

Explore posts in the same categories: Links to Articles, Blogs, Etc., Reviews, Theological Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Break Out Your Shovels”


  1. Hey Andrew,

    Read through your blog a bit today. Enjoyed what I’ve read. 🙂 Good design, good layout, overall a well done site, and I enjoy your content.

    I’ll definitely plug you into my google reader.

    God Bless!

    ~ In Christ, John.


    • Hi John!

      I’m glad you like my blog, for I’ve been following yours for some time now and have enjoyed it very much. Some of the things I’ve done here were in response to seeing how your blogs have been laid out. However, I’m afraid you may have mistaken me for someone else. I’ve not mentioned my name on the blog (and it doesn’t happen to be Andrew), so I have to wonder whether you were looking for the blog of a friend of yours?


I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

