Who Me? A Blogger?

If you had told me three years ago that I would now be writing a blog, I would have smiled and laughed and said, “Really now?”  If you had told me that only one year ago, I would have at least smiled a slightly incredulous smile.

Up until my junior year of highschool, I did very little with the computer.  I only played a few games on our desktop as a kid, and when I got to middle and highschool, I only used it for my typing and Spanish classes, and to type up some of my writing assignments.  I only ever sent one email until after I had graduated from highschool, and didn’t have my own account till I needed one for college.

My mom did a computer science course for 3G and me in my junior year (my brother was a freshman).  I was still at minimal computer usage, however, till I started college online.  I had a rather steep learning curve for the first month or so before I felt comfortable with everything I was being asked to do online.  The actual coursework, of course, was no problem, but some of the internet parts of my studies took a bit of getting used to. 

This will give you perspective: before graduating from highschool, I barely knew what sites like Google and Wikipedia were, and I didn’t use them more than once in a blue moon, if even that often.  Before graduation, I spent an average of about an hour a day on the computer, mostly for school assignments, almost never for the internet.  I didn’t even know what a blog was until I found TheRebelution.com while reading an article on another site, and that was actually toward the end of my freshman year in college.

Now here I am, two years later, actually writing my own blog.

A lot has happened in the 2-3 years between those two points in my life.  I started volunteering at some different organizations.  I got a part-time job.  I’ve been to a couple of Bible conferences where I’ve made some new friends.  My family began attending a new church.  I’m online a lot more now just by virtue of the fact that I have class discussions to keep up with, email correspondents, and a couple of blogs I follow.  In the last few months I’ve been online even more because I’ve been writing this blog.

The blog was originally begun as part of a college assignment.  Yes, I was required to start a blog on which I told personal stories.  I decided to make it more meaningful by telling the story of me as a homeschooler.  I got started on the assignment early and had a blast writing posts and organizing the blog.

I had so much fun that I decided to keep the blog going even after the assignment was done (something not all of my classmates did).  The blog hasn’t garnered a lot of viewers, hasn’t gotten quoted, hasn’t been linked to anywhere that I’ve seen, but that’s not why I am here.  I’m not here for notice.  I’m here because I have a story to tell.  Who knows how many people have stopped by and been intrigued by just one thing I said?  Who knows how many may have been encouraged?  Those things don’t show up on any stats sheet.  They aren’t calculable because some of the viewers may not realize that my blog has affected their thinking till later, or even if they notice that their perspective on things has changed, they might not be able to trace the change back to me as the source.  That’s fine with me.

I’m here to share, and the blog has been a good way to do that.  How long will I keep it up?  Who knows!  The posts have been fewer during the last few months because summer always makes me feel lazy and because I’ve had a busier schedule, but I’m still having fun writing them.  I can’t guarantee how often I’ll post in the future, but I’m still convinced that God has me writing this blog for a reason.  Someday maybe I’ll learn what that reason is, but even if I don’t, I am glad to write it for him to use in whatever way he desires.

Explore posts in the same categories: College Online, Growing Up, Miscellaneous

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

