Not A Shutterbug . . . Yet!

When I was fifteen, I bought a couple of disposable cameras to take on a family trip to see family halfway across the continent. I took quite a few pictures, some of which turned out all right, many of which were quite ordinary, and the rest of which are hardly worth keeping, except as a reminder of where I started on my photographic journey.

After that experience, I decided I ought to study a little bit of photography so that I could at least take a decent photo when the need arose.

As part of my art requirement the following year, I did a semester on photography, learning about cameras, lenses, lighting, exposure, and shutter speeds.  I didn’t take it all in, too much information to get it all.  Too much information with too little experience to tie it to and make it real.  I did  improve my skills, but I knew I still had much to learn.

As I looked over the course listings at my college a few years later, I noticed a course called “The Photographic Vision.”  I wasted no time writing it down on my list of courses to take.  Besides fulfilling my art requirement, I hoped the course would teach me the rest of the things I wanted to know about taking a great picture.  You see, I had moved from wanting to take a good picture to wanting to take great photos.

I had to wait two years before I was able to fit the course into my schedule, so I finally took it in the fall of my junior year.  Mom and Dad had a digital camera by this time, which made the course much easier for me.  I only had to hook the camera up to my laptop, transfer the photos I’d taken, and submit them online.  I also had a chance to weed out the ones that came out funny and retake them at the time if necessary. 

I enjoyed the course immensely.  We not only learned how to take better photos, we learned about the history of photography and discussed some of the work of the great photographers.  I was thrilled when I finally was able to recognize the different types of lighting that one photographer used when setting up a particular shot.  Lighting was the biggest mystery to me when I first started studying photography in highschool.

My photography improved by leaps and bounds, and I have been able to use some of the things I learned from that course in other courses.  A lot of photography is basic to art: form, balance, contrast, and perspective.  I’ve also been able to use my photos in other courses, and here on this blog!  I am going to get myself my own camera, but for now, I borrow the family camera whenever I get bit by the shutterbug . . .

Here’s a smattering of photos, mostly from the class.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Explore posts in the same categories: Art, College Online, Highschool, Hobbies, Homeschooling

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Not A Shutterbug . . . Yet!”

  1. Myphotographer Says:

    Hey, may be my internet connection which is crappy here in South Africa btw but I cannot see any pics and I have refreshed the page?


    • My sister had some odd things happen with a few of the pictures also. I’m not sure what the deal is, but I’ll see if I can figure it out. You’re right, it could just be your connection.

      ~homeschoolgraduate


I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

