Homeschooling in My Blood

I am a homeschooler.

While that statement may seem odd coming from someone who graduated nearly three years ago, in my case, it is quite true.  Just because I am no longer being homeschooled does not mean that I am automatically not a part of a homeschooling family anymore, does not mean that I have forgotten my homeschooling years, and certainly does not mean that I have turned my back on homeschooling.  Far from it!

Instead, I feel just as much a homeschooler now as when I graduated.  You see, while I would not say, “once a homeschooler, always a homeschooler,” homeschooling does get into your system.  Probably because homeschooling is not just an education for most people. Homeschooling is a lifestyle.  And I love it.

The fact is that I still live at home, still interact with my family and friends in much the same way as I always did before graduation, except that my mother no longer has much to do with my schoolwork beyond giving advice when asked for it.  I go about my schoolwork just like I used to in highschool.

I wake up to the alarm going off each morning and react by almost jumping out of the covers, hitting the snooze button, and then burrowing back into the covers.  Yes, admittedly, I do not always want to get up in the morning.  If I once get up, however, I am good for the rest of the day.  In fact, getting up early starts my day better than indulging my preference for hibernation.

Occasionally I do some schoolwork before breakfast, but mostly I wait until after breakfast.  Then I turn on my laptop or crack a textbook and start working on the next assignment.  Of course, if my mother is reading aloud to my younger brothers downstairs, I will sometimes listen in while working on mindless stuff.  When I have a deadline, though, I shut my door!  Afternoon is the same, once I tear myself away from the lunch conversation, which can last up to an hour.

As I said, I am still part of a homeschooling family.

I love the lifestyle my family has.  Sometimes I imagine what it would be like to be part of a non-homeschooling family.  I have a hard time, mostly because it is so foreign to me.  I mean, how do you stand not being around your family all day?  Okay, so not every family is as wonderful as mine, but mine is not perfect either.  In my home, we enjoy being together.  Maybe that explains my desire to have a homeschooling family of my own.  I guess I have homeschooling in my blood.

You know how Revelation 1:8 talks about how Christ is, was, and is to come?  That is how I feel about homeschooling.

I am, have been, and always will be, a homeschooler.

Explore posts in the same categories: Homeschooling

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

I like comments as much as the next blogger, so leave me some feedback!

